Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

Nelson Cricket Association Board Profiles

Nettles Lamont: (Chairperson) BCM, MInstD

Innovator / Entrepreneur

Nettles has built several businesses from start- up that have become integral in their respective sectors. Conquest Training has evolved over several years to become a conduit between private companies and the Government’s workplace literacy and numeracy initiative. Conquest is now a multi- disciplinary company involved in all professional upskilling throughout New Zealand.

Nettles advises senior management around process, procedures and performance. She has a special interest in strategy, brand development and governance. Nettles is an involved Director of Conquest Training, L and M Chambers, Blunt, Quality NZ, New Zealand International Economic Advisory Service, JFC Limited, Hortus Group, and Arinui Group- leading change where necessary to ensure the entities operate at the cutting edge in their respective sectors. In addition, Nettles also holds governance positions on several charitable Boards within the Canterbury region.

John Smith

As an opening batsman John had a long playing career with Stoke-Nayland, Nelson and Central Districts which began with the South Island primary tournament in Rangiora in 1973. He was the first player to play 100 games for Nelson and is still Nelson’s highest run-scorer. He played in 4 separate Hawke Cup winning eras captaining the team when they won the Hawke Cup from Northland in 1992. He also played for Central Districts at all levels from under 19 including 8 seasons of first class cricket for the Stags.

John was a member of the Central Districts Board from 2000 to 2003. Professionally John is a Chartered Accountant and has had over 30 years in senior finance roles with a number of large Nelson businesses. He is currently the Chief Financial Officer for Wakatu Incorporation.

Bruce Fraser LLB (Hons)

Bruce joined the Board at the 2019 AGM. Bruce is a lawyer who has practised for 40 years, including extensive time in New Zealand’s major cities. 

Bruce has a love of sport in general and he has extensive involvement on sporting and not for profit boards. He served on the board of the National Heart Foundation of NZ for 12 years, including 6 as chair. He was also chair of the Tasman Regional Sports Event Trust, which brought the South Island Masters games to the Nelson -Tasman region. He was on the board of the Trust responsible for facilitating the establishment of the Saxton Velodrome and has served on a number of other boards.

Other Board Members:

Andy Leonard

Julie Baxendine

Win Greenaway

Lesley Jones

Office Bearers

Patron:  Kevin Leonard

President: Kevin Scoble

Honorary Solicitor: Jock Sutherland

Auditor: Simon Dansen

Honorary Vice Presidents





C. Ingham

L. Smith

G. Davidson

V. Mardon

Life Members

I. Hampton

J.G. Sutherland

J. Rackley

T. Pratt


Book a Net

Find us on Facebook