Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket


Nelson has a rich cricket history. Cricket was first reported as being played in Nelson in the Nelson Examiner in March 1844, in a match between the Surveyors of the Land Company and Nelson.

As a representative team Nelson played interprovincial cricket as early as 1862, later first playing first-class cricket in the 1873-74 season against Wellington, becoming the fifth team to play first-class cricket in New Zealand.

Nelson played 17 times in first-class cricket, winning nine and losing seven, and played their last first-class match in 1891.
In 1922 the Newman Shield was presented by Tom Newman of Newman Brothers for competition between Nelson City, Waimea, Tapawera, Midlands (Murchison), Motueka, Takaka, Marlborough Country and Marlborough Town.

Today Nelson competes in the Hawke Cup, which is a trophy competed for between the District Associations (DA’s) in New Zealand. Nelson is one of seven DA’s that feed in to the Central Districts Major Association (MA).

Nelson has a rich Hawke Cup history, winning the Cup several times, and holds the record for the longest period defending the title, a 28-match streak from December 1958 to February 1965.

Nelson’s 14-match Hawke Cup tenure from February 1979 to February 1983 represented another indelible chapter in local cricketing history.

In the 2018/19 season the Nelson Griffins successfully challenged Southland to once again bring the Trophy back to the top of the south. Congratulations to the coaches, management, team and everyone involved in such a big highlight for the Nelson Cricket Community. 

International Fixtures at Trafalgar Park

  • 1947/48 Nelson v Fiji
  • 1953/54 Nelson v Fiji
  • 1961/62 Nelson v Fiji
  • 1976/77 Central Districts v Australia
  • 1981/82 Nelson v Australia
  • 1985/86 Nelson v Australia
  • 1990/91 Nelson v England
  • 1994/95 NZ Selection v South Africa

International Fixtures at Saxton Oval

  • Jan 2014       Blackcaps v West Indies ODI
  • Jan 2015       Blackcaps v Sri Lanka ODI
  • Feb 2015       Ireland v West Indies ODI, ICC Cricket World Cup
  • Feb 2015       UAE v Zimbabwe ODI, ICC Cricket World Cup
  • Mar 2015      Bangladesh v Scotland, ICC Cricket World Cup
  • Dec 2015       Blackcaps v Sri Lanka ODI
  • Jan 2016       Blackcaps v Sri Lanka ODI
  • Nov 2016      NZXI v Pakistan (Three-Day)
  • Nov 2016      White Ferns v Pakistan ODI
  • Nov 2016      White Ferns v Pakistan T20
  • Dec 2016       Blackcaps v Bangladesh ODI (1)
  • Dec 2016       Blackcaps v Bangladesh ODI (2)
  • Dec 2017       Blackcaps v West Indies T20
  • Jan 2018       NZXI v Pakistan (50 over)
  • Jan 2018       Blackcaps v Pakistan ODI
  • Jan 2019       Blackcaps v Sri Lanka ODI
  • Nov 2019      Blackcaps vs England T20


Book a Net

Find us on Facebook