Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

Hawke Cup – The symbol of supremacy for district cricket in New Zealand.

Tomorrow the Nelson Pine Griffins take on Southland for the Hawke Cup.  It has been 22 years to the day that Nelson last held the Hawke Cup, losing it to a very strong Auckland-Waitakere team.

Nelson has a long and proud history with the Hawke cup holding the cup for the longest period and the most challenges. Resisting 28 challenges between 1958 and 1965. Nelson’s other long tenor holding the cup came in the 1983 – 1986 period.

In January 2011, to mark 100 years of Hawke Cup cricket, an official “Team of the Century” was named. The selection was based on the player’s outstanding performances in the Hawke Cup and also on their contribution to their district while playing.  Nelson players featured heavily in this team with the following players being named in the team.


Roger Pierce – Nelson

Ian Leggat – Nelson and Hawke’s Bay

Barry Hampton – Nelson

Dave Spence – Nelson

We wish the team of 2019 well for the challenge and hope that after a period of 22 years the Hawke Cup can return to Nelson.



Book a Net

Find us on Facebook