Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

Nelson Pine Griffins Battlers claim Newman Shield

Nelson Pine Griffins Battlers claim Newman Shield

Nelson Pine Griffins put out a real team of battlers on Sunday to pull off a stunning victory and reclaim the Newman Shield off Marlborough at Saxton Oval.  With a number of players who had represented the province earlier in the season unavailable, this was something of a patchwork outfit put together by coach Ryan Edwards.  Young Nelson College players Ronan Restieaux and Patrick Wilson were on debut as were ACOB stalwarts, Ollie Jones-Allan and James Graham.

Nelson batted first and compiled a creditable 220 before being dismissed in the 48th over.  Chris Dittmer batted in his normal responsible manner in compiling a deserved half century.  Patrick Howes continued his good form of this season while matching Dittmer in also piecing together a neat fifty.  The experienced BJ Barnett and the cherubic Graham added solidarity to the middle-lower order to ensure Nelson a respectable enough total. Cameron Collins and Nick Weaver were the pick of the visiting bowling attack and picked up seven wickets between them.

While opener Tom Sutherland was disciplined at the top of the Marlborough order a steady Nelson bowling attack always looked on top, especially after opening bowler Reuben Smith dismissed the dangerous Prabodha Arthavidu in the 15th over. With Josh Newport, Smith kept the visitors under constant pressure and off spinner Barnett claimed three victims to ensure the home team stayed on top as the run rate added extra concerns for Marlborough. Graham was tidy behind the stumps as wickets continued to tumble and Marlborough were all out in the 42nd over – well shy of their target.


Nelson Pine Griffins                                       220         Chris Dittmer 52, Patrick Howes 50, BJ Barnett 44, James Graham 31, Finn Raxworthy 20, Cameron Collins 4/32, Nick Weaver 3/55, Matt McCormick 2/25

Marlborough                                                     144         Tom Sutherland 53, Akhil Pant 27, BJ Barnett 3/24, Josh Newport 2/18

Nelson Pine Griffins won by 76 runs                       


Book a Net

Find us on Facebook