Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

Patrick Wilson Century Highlight of T20 Cricket

Patrick Wilson Century Highlight of T20 Cricket

A swashbuckling Paddy Wilson century and a last ball victory by Car Company Stoke Nayland were the major talking points from Round One of the local T20 club cricket competition on Saturday. Wilson was part of a run fest for the schoolboys as Nelson College comfortably accounted for Wanderers/Motueka at Brightwater.

It took Stoke Nayland to the very last delivery for Ben Homan to smote the final Horse Baumfield delivery for four to secure their victory at Marsden Rec.  There were some nice contributions earlier, notably from Dylan Eginton and Jake Milton, but it was Homan who had the final say.  This match was a continuation of the titanic struggles that these two outfits have had all season.

WTTU made their intentions in this competition know early doors as Joey O’Connor and Tom Ingham fashioned an undefeated 109 run partnership to easily bring their team home against Wakatu at Jubilee Park. This was on the back of a consistent WTTU bowling effort that maintained the pressure on the visiting batsmen.  Brad Smith pieced together a nice half century, but he had little support.

ACOB                                                                    127/6    Jake Milton 51*, Sam Berkett 44, Paddy Howes 2/18

Car Company Stoke Nayland                      131/6     Dylan Eginton 50, Ben Homan 26*, Darius Skeaping 20

Car Company Stoke Nayland won by 4 wickets


Wakatu                                                                107         Brad Smith 52, Josh Newport 2/12, Sam Baxendine 2/14, Billy Powick 2/17, Joey O’Connor 2/30

WTTU                                                                   111/1     Tom Ingham 47*, O’Connor 43*

WTTU won by 9 wickets


Nelson College                                                 217/4     Patrick Wilson 101, Jarrod McKay 49

Wanderers/Motueka                                    147         Will Bixley 4/9, Logan Andrew 2/23

Nelson College won by 70 runs



Book a Net

Find us on Facebook