Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

Premier 50 over result

Another title to Stoke Nayland

Favourites Stoke Nayland comfortably accounted for ACOB to claim the Nelson 50 over title at  Saxton Oval on Sunday.

After a bit of a scratchy start, Stoke Nayland was able to bounce back and post a creditable 223/9 off their 50 overs.  Losing the consistent Kurt Pahl in the first over of the day put them behind the eight ball right from the get-go and at 52 for four in the 17th over the wheels were wobbling.A nice 114 partnership between Paddy Howes and Ben Homan, however, righted the ship for the red machine.  Homan carried on from where he left off on Saturday as he played the sheet anchor for the more aggressive Howes.  Howes produced some majestic drives and was powerful all around the wicket as the track appeared to flatten out and lose any zip it contained.  When they both departed Dylan Eginton produced a nice little cameo to maintain the momentum and while the total was respectable it appeared to be gettable if ACOB applied themselves.

Matt Eden was the pick of the bowlers with an early breakthrough and then some tidy wicket to wicket death bowling to keep the target manageable.  Ollie Jones-Allen toiled away in the middle of the innings in a one-dimensional ACOB bowling attack that seemed to rue the absence of a spin option.

ACOB never really got going as Ben Stark accounted for Akileash Reddy in the first over of the chase.  James Graham and Daniel Grimes showed a couple of small pockets of resistance, but wickets fell all too regularly.  While there may have been a debate on the legality of the delivery that dismissed Greg Chitty, debutant Billy Guyton took over the bowling burden and closed the gate on the run chase. Howes backed up his batting effort with a well-controlled seven overs that yielded three wickets and maintained the screws on any potential ACOB fightback. Sub fielder Chris Bayard took an outstanding catch around the corner which applied the final touch to ACOB’s demise.  They were dismissed in the 30th over as Stoke Nayland claimed the trophy.

Stoke Nayland  223/9     Patrick Howes 72, Ben Homan 40, Dylan Eginton 27*, Darius Skeaping 22, Matt Eden 3/22, Ollie Jones-Allen 3/43

ACOB                    99           Daniel Grimes 24, Ben Stark 3/21, Howes 3/31, Billy Guyton 2/13, Eginton 2/20

Stoke Nayland won by 124 runs


Book a Net

Find us on Facebook