Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

Round 12 Results

Competition Heats up in TPL Cricket

The favourites did not have it all their own way in Round 12 of the TPL club cricket on Saturday.  Car Company Stoke Nayland and ACOB both just snuck home in their matches while Nelson College and Dolphins succumbed to the lowlier ranked Falcons and Wakatu respectively.  The highlight of the round was a very well compiled century by Falcons batsmen Matthew Stretch.


Wanderers/Motueka v Car Company Stoke Nayland

Wanderers/Motueka almost caused the upset of the season as they got within 16 runs of tipping up playing through champions Car Company Stoke Nayland at Saxton Oval.  There was little sign of any drama as phlegmatic openers Kurt Pahl and Ben Homan comfortably compiled 70 as Stoke Nayland begun comfortably.  However once seamer Andrew Beatson dismissed Homan, wickets fell regularly as the pitch did not quite play as well as it appeared it would.  Jack White and Max Mannering profited by bowling containing lines and lengths and Beatson maintained the pressure he had introduced by picking up four wickets for himself.  Dylan Eginton produced what would turn out to be a very handy effort coming in at number seven and his was the final wicket to fall.

Wickets fell regularly in the run chase for Wanderers/Motueka and at 76 for eight it seemed to be a forlorn hope.  Opener Alex Brogan however was still at the crease and he was joined by veteran wicketkeeper John Ogilvie. The pair eked out ones and twos and took the score to 122 before Ogilvie was dismissed after his defiant effort.  Eginton was again to the fore and Symon Carr marked his return to Nelson cricket with a tidy spell.  It was Daniel Phillipps though who had the final say as he dismissed Brogan tidily caught by Eginton to complete the tight victory in the 47th over.

Car Company Stoke Nayland      146         Kurt Pahl 51, Ben Homan 23, Dylan Eginton 24, Andrew Beatson 4/36, Jack White 2/18, Max Mannering 2/23

Wanderers/Motueka                    130         Alex Brogan 50, John Ogilvie 21, Eginton 4/20, Symon Carr 2/20, Daniel Phillipps 2/24

Car Company Stoke Nayland won by 16 runs



WTTU’s 129 almost turned into a winning total before ACOB’s last pair took them home at Jubilee

Park.  The old warhorse Reuben Smith claimed an ACOB Honours Board bowling performance as he

put consistent heat on the WTTU batting.  Tom Cross had given them a solid start, but it was up to

Cade Armstrong to promote the total beyond three figures.

Armstrong, Andrew Baxendine and Jon Routhan kept the ACOB batsmen honest but with such a

small score to defend it was always going to be a big ask.  Matthew Grimes batted well in the

middle of the innings but it was left to the reliable player/coach BJ Barnett to guide his team home

to a valuable victory with last batsman and captain Ollie Jones-Allan as his partner.

WTTU                                                   129         Tom Cross 31, Cade Armstrong 25*, Reuben Smith 5/25, Ollie Jones-Allan 2/18

ACOB                                                    130/9     BJ Barnett 39*, Matthew Grimes 21, Andrew Baxendine 4/32, Jon Routhan 2/47, Armstrong 2/27

ACOB won by 1 wicket


Wakatu v Dolphins

Wakatu did the other Nelson based teams a favour with an upset victory over leaders Dolphins at

Victory Square. Batting first the home team produced a number of profitable partnerships in

accumulating a respectable 218/7 in their fifty overs.  There were numerous handy contributions

with the reliable skipper Campbell McLean holding things together in the middle with a nice

undefeated knock.

The Dolphins never really looked in control of the chase as first Damo Aitken and Greg DuFeu made

inroads and then spinner Matthew O’sullivan regularly picked up wickets.  Jerrym Lamb and Akhil

Pant both backed up respectable bowling efforts with small cameo’s, but it was all too little and too

late as Wakatu completed the turn up for the books that they were hoping for.

Wakatu                                                218/7     Campbell McLean 71*, Damian Aitken 33, Mason Robinson 28, Jason Campbell 25, Brad Smith 20, Akhil Pant 2/17, Jerrym Lamb 2/55 

Dolphins                                              175         Pant 40, Lamb 30, Matthew O’sullivan 4/32, Greg DuFeu 2/29, Aitken 3/36

Wakatu won by 43 runs               


Nelson College v Falcons

Batting first at Ngawhatu, Dolphins would have been somewhat concerned at three wickets down

for 16 after nine overs.  A splendid 179 run partnership between Andrew McCaa and the dominant

Matthew Stretch however turned that all around.  The pair first consolidated and then prospered

against an undermanned Nelson College attack.  Off spinner Mason Lund had opened the bowling

and looked both dangerous and containing in his ten over spell.  Stretch particularly counter

attacked powerfully and although there were a couple of difficult chances, he worked the ball all

around the compass in a lovely display.  His century included 12 boundaries and three sixes.  Nick

Weaver iced the innings well with an impressive display of hitting.

The schoolboys never fired a shot in reply as Weaver made early inroads and wickets tumbled

at regular intervals.  Leg spinner Bradley Horton tidied things up at the end as College were routed in

just the 20th over.

Falcons                                                 265/5     Matthew Stretch 114, Andrew McCaa 54*, Nick Weaver 34*,

                                                                Cooper Roberts 21, Mason Lund 3/27

Nelson College                                 65           Weaver 3/22, Bradley Horton 2/4, Sam Boyce 2/9             

Falcons won by 200 runs



Book a Net

Find us on Facebook