Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

Stoke Nayland Claim Title

Stoke Nayland defeated a gutsy WTTU in the NCA 110 over competition at Saxton Oval.  The Red Machine battled hard to get a total which at half time seemed adequate but not unassailable. As it transpired, while WTTU Tigers displayed plenty of grit, it was just enough.

Stoke Nayland opted to bat first on a surprisingly sluggish deck.  After losing the enigmatic Kurt Pahl and Ben Homan both for ducks at the top of the order Darius Skeaping and Clayton Campbell dug in for the long haul.  They ensured that there were no further breakthroughs before lunch in a tenacious but valuable partnership.  All the bowlers were tight, left-arm spinner Sam Halsey especially, bowling 14 overs with an accuracy that had a pernicious effect on the run rate.  Skeaping faced 154 deliveries and Campbell 110 as they combined to produce a 112-run partnership. Upon their demise, others chipped in and Sam Chamberlain upped the ante at the back end of the innings with four boundaries and a six in his quick-fire half-century.  All the bowlers toiled away, Leath Armstrong picked up an early wicket, Sam Baxendine and Sam Kininmonth both grabbed a brace while KURT Thompson was parsimonious.

WTTU lost Tom Ingham with the first ball in their run chase and were soon in further trouble with the departure of Joey O’Connor, Steven Binnie and Jack Aldridge all in relatively quick succession.  Tim O’Connor and Ili Tugaga were both accurate and hostile with the new ball.  Tom Cross offered some defiance and when he departed Andrew Drummond took control of proceedings.  He drove and cut nicely in counter-attack and when Sam Baxendine joined him, they bought the target within reach.  Once Drummond left, skipper Baxendine looked to take charge of things himself as he hoped to lead his team home. The target worked down to 37 off the last three overs and 26 were left off the final over bowled by Tugaga.  Although Baxendine did his best it was too many as Tugaga showed all his experience to lead Stoke Nayland to the title.  Dylan Eginton also bowled well, and Chamberlain backed up his batting with a two-wicket bag.


Stoke Nayland  222/7     Darius Skeaping 76, Clayton Campbell 64, Sam Chamberlain 50*, Sam Baxendine 2/51, Sam Kininmonth 2/52

WTTU                   199         Andrew Drummond 70, Tom Cross 37, sam Baxendine 32*, Tim O’Connor

                                2/46, Sam Chamberlain 2/49, Ili Tugaga 2/54

Stoke Nayland won by 28 runs


NELSON, NEW ZEALAND – 110 Over Cricket Final. WTTU v Stoke/Nayland. Saxton Oval, Richmond, New Zealand. Saturday 2 February 2019. (Photo by Chris Symes/Shuttersport Limited)


Book a Net

Find us on Facebook