Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

WTTU top table in T20 Cricket

WTTU top table in T20 Cricket

After two rounds of the club cricket T20 completion WTTU are the only unbeaten team. They defeated Car Company Stoke Nayland while Wakatu were too good for Nelson College and ACOB comfortably accounted for Wanderers/Motueka.

Doug Seward and veteran Jon Routhan fashioned an unbeaten 97 run fifth wicket partnership which guided WTTU home against Car Company Stoke Nayland at Jubilee Park with just three deliveries to spare. Stoke Nayland had put together a respectable 142/8 on the back of a fine fifty from Paddy Howes and a small cameo from opener Chris Dittmer. For WTTU, Tom O’Neill produced a handy double of three cheap wickets and a useful 34, but it was Seaward and Routhan who bought the team home to victory.

Brad Smith is loving T20 cricket as he produced his second half century in a row as Wakatu neatly accrued a challenging target against Nelson College at Victory Square. Although Ronan Restieaux and Dimitri van der Colk claimed three wickets apiece the third wicket partnership between Smith and Daniel Hooper guaranteed Wakatu a respectable target.  Once the 31 run opening partnership between Jacob Walters and Finn Raxworthy was broken by the needless run out of Walters, College never really threatened.  Vivek Jadhav was the top individual wicket taker of the day as the schoolboy run chase petered out in the 19th over.

Wanderers/Motueka lost wickets steadily as they attempted to set ACOB a meaningful run chase at Botanics. As it transpired the home team bowling attack held sway, and on the back of three wicket bags from seam duo of Nibu Jose and Horse Baumfield the visitors never gained any real traction.  Despite losing Jake Milton early, ACOB were not under any undue duress as bulky keeper/batsman James Graham smashed his way to a quick-fire half century, while surprise package Sam Berkett bagged yet another red inker. 

Car Company Stoke Nayland                      142/8     Patrick Howes 57, Chris Dittmer 23, Tom O’Neill 3/13

WTTU                                                                   143/4     Jon Routhan 56, Doug Seward, O’Neill 34, Howes 2/11

WTTU won by 6 wickets


Wakatu                                                                146/8     Brad Smith 71, Daniel Hooper 23, Ronan Restieaux 3/18, Dimitri van der Colk 3/26

Nelson College                                                 105         Finn Raxworthy 22, Vivek Jadhav 4/22, Matthew O’sullivan 2/15

Wakatu won by 41 runs


Wanderers/Motueka                                    86           Nibu Jose 3/15, Glen Baumfield 3/23, Liam Baird 2/13

ACOB                                                                    90/2       James Graham 58*

ACOB won by 8 wickets


Book a Net

Find us on Facebook