Nelson Cricket
Nelson CricketNelson Cricket

Zohrab guides ACOB to TPL Final

Zohrab guides ACOB to TPL Final

ACOB hardly raised a sweat in defeating the Nelson College 1st XI in todays elimination final to book themselves a berth in the Final tomorrow.  Car Company Stoke Nayland will maintain their favouritism but they will need to overcome an in- form Thomas Zohrab who had an outstanding day at the Botanics.  Zohrab took seven wickets them backed it up with 63 before being dismissed when the scores were tied.   ACOB were not really tested so most of them, Zohrab exempt, will still be fresh for the battle on Sunday.

Things looked fine and dandy when College, notwithstanding the needless run out of Finn Raxworthy for 0 in the first over, began very solidly. Flynn Day and Jonty Raxworthy looked assured as they took the score to 77 in the 16th over. They were both dismissed within the space of three runs however and then the metronomic Zohrab took control.  He bowled exquisite line and length and was supremely accurate.  Six of his seven dismissals were either bowled or LBW which was a testament to the impeccable line he was bowling.  Finn Restieaux tried hard, but he holed out to square leg pulling a slightly back of a length Zohrab delivery and he was the College’s last hope of a meaningful total.  Zohrab took a hat trick in the middle order and only a wide denied him of a second hat trick to finish the innings.

Zohrab then donned the pads to control ACOB’s chase of the sub-par total. Fellow opener Nic Clark attempted a million dollar drive too early to be out for a duck and then the dismissal of Greg Chitty caused a little trepidation to creep into the home team camp.  Zohrab though played nice shots all around the wicket and remained fairly in the limelight.  It was a shame that he was dismissed when the scores were tied as he surely deserved a red inker. A typical, no nonsense and belligerent knock from the burly James Graham propelled ACOB to their target as they won with 23 overs to spare. 


Nelson College                 122         Jonty Raxworthy 45, Flynn Day 24, Finn Restieaux 20, Thomas Zohrab 7/26

ACOB                                    126/4     Zohrab 63, James Graham 32*, Kaleb McKay 2/19

ACOB won by 6 wickets


Book a Net

Find us on Facebook